RSS Feed

Link love with beans

Photo taken at Mei’s Ballet Recital a few weeks back.

I’m known to wear winter looking attire in the dead of summer–I layer a lot. This–minus the price please–would be one of the winter-looking, summer-worn said garments.

Say AAAAAA. Also flash-way-back.

Can I just say this is possibly the cutest thing ever.

Let me just clarify: I dream about stuff like this. It’s true.

I didn’t vote. The one I was going to vote for pulled out, the second did not make it in the primaries. Pray for Egypt.

I’ve been skipping farmer’s markets–I am not very wise. I need to get my hands on some rhubarb fast!

See how I snuck a little politics on you back there. And you didn’t even notice. We’re still good, no worries. (spell-check doesn’t know *snuck*. So in your face spell-check. Americans know best! *Also, add to dictionary. click*)

This woman is brilliant. Also, I’m pretty sure homemade mayonnaise makes life considerably better.

I am in the process of borrowing these from friends. Also I really, really want to read this one. Can you tell I’m a big Willow fan.

Speaking favorite reads. This is currently Grabby’s favorite book (It was gifted by her grandparents). She will not go to sleep without it being read to her. She then asks for her bunny to sleep with her. The bunny is a crucial part in the story–just so you know.

Are you done clicking yet? Or did you abandon this post from the title? OR are you still waiting for the beans?

1 cup brown rice cooked in 1 1/2 cups  chicken broth or water. 1 can of pinto beans (reserve  it’s water) or black or whatever it is you have a can of *we’re still talking beans here*. 1 medium onion finely chopped. Half a green bell pepper chopped. 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp paprika, salt & pepper to taste. In a medium pot cook bell peppers and onions in olive oil over medium heat, add spices. Stir in cooked rice, mix together until well incorporated, then add beans with reserved water and let cook for 10 minutes over medium low heat. Serve in a bowl with a spoon. You’ll want seconds.

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

3 responses »

  1. I love to eat brown rice,but the thought of cooking it scares me.Do you have any tips?I know that egyptians eat white rice.What about brown?
    Sarah

    Reply
    • There is nothing scary about cooking brown rice. It takes longer to cook, but it’s essentially the same way of cooking white rice.

      I used to soak mine for a couple of hours to reduce cooking time. Now I don’t even bother. I cook one cup rice in two cups broth or water, and let it simmer over very low heat for 45 mins to an hour.

      Hope this helps!

      Peace.

      Reply
    • Just curious, Is this Saritta?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

