RSS Feed

Backyard (tiny) Garden

I– as of yesterday–am the proud owner of two Lacinato kale plants, an arugula plant, a cilantro plant  and three different kinds of tomato plants. I am hopeful.

I’ve been dreaming about a small backyard garden for many years now. Our constant move and my horrible plant-caring skills kept my dreaming tucked under the covers. But alas, I have no excuses now, my awesome man “lifted up the covers” and built me a raised bed as part of my many mother’s day gifts. It’s an 8×4 bed and I am told can house up to 6 different kinds of plants. We are still on the look out for rhubarb and sunflowers. Did I mention my high hopes?

I must admit it’s more satisfying to plant an already poking through plant as opposed to waiting for nature to take it’s course. I did however purchase cucumber seeds of the salad making variety, but we should wait until the soil is consistently 80 degrees or up, I’m thinking after memorial day should do it.

The girls are intrigued of course, and it’s part of my scheme to involve my youngest in as many watering and harvesting as her little hands could manage, maybe, just maybe she’ll open up to experimenting more greens. As for now: Kale chips, I thank thee!

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

Leave a Reply

