RSS Feed

Kebda Iskandarani

My twin sister made us Kebda Iskandarani which translates to Alexandrian-style liver. If you’ve had Kebda Iskandarani before you’ll know that the recipe I’m about to share is not the traditional one. It has been tweaked to perfection by my old man, who enjoys cooking a lot, although I am not sure if he minds me sharing the fact that he likes to cook, he is after all an Arab man, but just in case let’s keep it between us. (I’m pretty sure he doesn’t read my blog, I’m safe for now)

So if you happen to tolerate or like the taste of liver (it is an acquired taste that I have thankfully adopted at a very young age, yet failed to incorporate my daughters taste buds to comply… my husband has long been a hopeless case) you may want to read carefully, this is the best recipe for beef liver anyone will give you. Yes, I’m confident. Also don’t wait three years to find someone willing to share it with you. Cook it for yourself, those mac-n-cheese Annie boxes are always an option for liver haters, you know what I’m sayin…

Ingredients:

One pound beef liver cut into half an inch strips (organic grass fed livers are highly recommended, since it’s the organ that clears toxic junk from the animal’s body)

4 big garlic cloves diced

One medium onion cut into small squares

One cup milk

2 Tbsp olive oil, or butter

2 green bell peppers diced

salt, pepper, cumin, coriander to taste, hot peppers (optional)

Directions:

1. In a big-ish bowl soak liver (before chopping)in milk then leave it in the fridge over night, this will keep the liver from drying when cooked.

2. In a large skillet add olive oil on medium high heat then add onions, cook until translucent.

3. Add bell peppers then sir fry for a couple of minutes.

4. Drain liver, cut into long strips, then toss with vegetables in skillet.

5. Add garlic and spices stir fry everything for a couple of minutes then cover, reduce heat and let cook for 15 minutes.

Serve in pita pockets with juice of lime or lemon or over rice.

Easy peasy, mac-n-cheesy *wink*

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

Leave a Reply

