RSS Feed

Anger

My left eye has been twitching since early this morning. It is considered a bad omen where I come from, if you believe in such things.

I don’t.

I parked in a tow zone today. The tow time was from 4:00pm t0 5:30 pm. I parked at 4:00 pm sharp.( I did not see the sign.) So, when I stepped out of the grocery store and did not find my car, I dropped my groceries to the ground and started cursing (my curse words are usually PG. I am but a mom after all). The man across the street collapsed into a fit of laughter and yelled at me that my car got towed. *(I barely managed not crossing the street and slapping him across the face… barely)

My left eye stopped twitching.

Naturally this would happen around the same time I was supposed to pick up the girls from school, and naturally the car seats were inside the car that got towed away. My husband came to the rescue. After several phone calls, and more inside cursing on my behalf, we retrieved the car with some mild tow scrapes that we cannot prove were from the tow truck, along a significant fine. My husband made it for pick up time and I made dinner with shivering hands.

I promise I will religiously read Every. Single. Street sign from now on.

In other news we ate artichoke tonight. Mei was suspicious that it might ’cause her to “choke”– after dipping it in butter she was sold. She has declared it her second favorite food, right after lasagne. High praise in her book.

Dare I say peace after this?

Peace *sigh*

*Clarification: I never have the urge to harm anyone. The above statement was to give you a glimpse of my level of outrage.

**When one gets angry, it is recommended (by Prophet Mohammad, peace be upon him) to change ones position from standing to sitting, and if one is sitting then they should lie down. Also make wudu (Ablution) because water extinguishes fire. From experience, a good recommendation.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

2 responses »

  1. Masha Allah! You still managed to make artichoke at the end of that crazy day! I guess the work that goes into preparing artichoke was good therapy.
    Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

