RSS Feed

Friday the 13th

Did you know that I am studying very hard for an exam this Friday the 13th? Did you know that I am not superstitious, so I opted for this date because no one else would take their exams on it, and I could choose anytime I liked? Did you know that although I am not superstitious I am probably going to need to take my exam again?

My life currently entails a lot of stressing about my coming exam (An oral medical interpreting exam that if I pass along another written exam that I am also taking by the end of this month, I would qualify for a national certification. Which means you’d really want to hire me), guilt for doing something other than preparing for said exam, and headaches from all the vocabulary I’m memorizing. My brain’s meter is currently pointing to a blinking full accompanied by an alarming beep, yet I’m still trying to jam more inside… did I mention my headaches?

This is how my day ended: As I was walking to the coffee shop from our neighborhood library occupied with how many more words I need to master before I can dump them all out in my exam, I spotted a hovering flashlight mid-air. I narrowed my eyes (for I wasn’t wearing my glasses) and in the shade of the day’s last visible light, I made out a jogger in a headlamp. Then I sat on a table across from a young-hippie-Edward-Norton meditating in our neighborhood coffee shop while stopping occasionally to read from a spiritual text (I know that because his table-neighbor took interest in his book and they started discussing the text) I contemplated for a second the likelihood of encountering these two guys on the same night and within the same hour. Then I finished my salad, collected my flashcards and wondered if the girls gave my husband trouble going to bed tonight as I was heading back home–they didn’t, also thank you husband!

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

2 responses »

  1. ed norton . . i think of art carney on the honeymooners. i’m showing my age, methinks 🙂

    good luck with your exam! i always think of friday the 13th as good luck. smart day to pick.

    Reply
    • I don’t know who art carney is, but the guy really did look like the spitting image of a young ed norton in shoulder length hair. Fridays are always good days, and odd numbers are prefferred over even ones in the Islamic tradition. Thanks for the good wishes, I’m not sure how it went, but I should find out in 8 weeks.
      Peace.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

