RSS Feed

Award Season

…well, this is a first. The lovely Dorina (yes, I have readers who actually enjoy my blog) awarded me the Liebster Blog Award. The award goes to five blogs you find inspiring and have under 200 followers– I definitely qualify for the second, and thank you Dorina I am really flattered! After you receive a Liebster, the rule is to pass it on to five other bloggers so you spread the love…

And the Liebster goes to… *drum roll*

My so called life and other lies: I enjoy her blog because in short she keeps it real. She’s an home schooling mama of two, crafty, outdoorsy, and has a wicked sense of humor which I find insanely refreshing. She shares it all–good and bad. I’ve been following her for over three years now.

Dropstone Farms: I’m not sure if it’s okay to award family members, but even if they weren’t family I’d award them without a doubt. They cure their own meat for crying out loud.

Itto’s Living Faith: Itto is one of the few people that can make a compost toilet sound like fun… seriously! She recently started a sustainable school at the High Atlas mountains, there is no better way to describe her school than she does. A true inspiration.

Rickshaw Diaries: I’m not sure if the author of this blog has under 200 followers– she’s a very talented writer. I’m probably mistaken, yet I’m seizing this opportunity to leave her a comment on her blog to let her know how awesome she is. She is one of the authors of the book “Love InshaAllah” which is currently patiently waiting one my Kindle once I’m done with my current read. Here’s an article about the book on the NYtimes. Also in case you forgot I mentioned her on my last post.

Winker: Another family blogger that I wish would blog more often. Whenever I notice a new blog post from her I yelp with excitement. She’s super smart, funny, an amazing writer, and if that’s not enough, she’s also a great cook (did I mention she’s a professional potter?) Her recipes are wonderfully practical. If you know her in person and happen to be lucky enough to watch her hands at work, you’ll probably stand in awe. The first time I saw her prepare something in a kitchen was seven years ago in our Egypt apartment. I remember her asking to help with the salad (I was too embarrassed to put one of my visiting American family at work at the time) She stepped next to me on the counter looking like she was in her element and immediately started cutting the vegetables–  I had the dullest knives anyone could possibly own (I was still afraid of sharp knives back then) and she just stood there cutting my bell peppers with ease. The shape came out perfect, she finished cutting all the veggies that would go in the salad and then added cheddar cheese–brilliant I thought– she then tossed the whole thing with a dressing that she made with the little ingredients that I owned at the time (I was not an experienced cook back then). She probably does not know this, but I recreated her salad for possibly the next year to come, or if ever I had company that I wanted to impress with my salad making skills.

Hope you enjoy taking a peak at these blogs that I enjoy so very much. Now, off to let them find out they received an award.

Peace.


About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

4 responses »

  1. Nermz, I am so flattered! Your words made my day! I have to admit the worst blogger update, though– in a mix of gmail, google passwords, and various conflicting accounts, I seem to have lost access to my blog. So if I figure it out, I’ll show up there again some day, but until then, I’m just blogging in my head, which is not so fun to read! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Can you get a new password? There should be a way, we all lose our passwords. I have over seven passwords, and I keep updating them (I’ve kept my pregnancy brain since my first pregnancy).

    Reply
  3. I did it! And I even wrote a short post! Thanks for the gentle push to get back to it. I’ll try to keep up with your good example.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

