RSS Feed

Purple Haze

Pomegranates were my childhood’s favorite fruit. The only reason I tolerated winter then was possibly because of pomegranates (I’ve suffered from Raynaud’s for as long as I remember, winter’s are a harsh season in Egypt for the likes of me). I used to call it’s tiny little seeds jewels, and I had my mother call me when she was about to cut them in half open, so I see the star shape inside. “Subhan Allah, my mother would exclaim, God is beautiful” she would then continue with her warning tone “If you get the juice on your clothes, it’ll stain purple and nothing will get the stain out!”. Needless to say, my childhood clothes were dotted in purple.

I can never add pomegranate seeds to salads or cook it with other food. I feel like it’s such a waste after all this work. Try it in a bowl with a spoon. You’ll never have the heart to add it to anything else again. Trust me! If it’s too tangy for your young ones, a spoonful of sugar never hurts. That’s how I ate it as a kid.

***

My significant other currently sounds like Eeyore– him and the gang have been under the weather for the past three days. He feels better except for the sudden Eeyore voice that manifested this evening, it was especially comical to listen to him read bedtime stories for the girls tonight.

Needless to say we were almost stuck most of the weekend indoors recovering– well they were, I was giving them moral support– so it was especially wonderful to have a picnic lunch in our muddy backyard.

Hope your weekend was more productive than ours.

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

2 responses »

  1. I have rheumatoid arthritis & went to my doctor for new problems I’m experiencing & was diagnosed with secondary Raynaud’s today. I guess I’ll have to start eating Pomegranates. It was meant to be that I stumbled onto your site today. Thanks for the information. Peace be with you.

    Reply
    • Pomegranates are an excellent source of iron, and antioxidants. However they do not cure Raynauds. I’m sorry if I gave you the wrong impression. What I meant by tolerating winters in spite of my condition was that pomegranates are a winter fruit and I loved them. Feel better!
      Peace.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

