RSS Feed

Domo Arigato Mr. Roboto

It’s sunnah (from the prophetic example. Recommended) for Muslims to buy one’s spouse a gift when traveling. Before we had kids, I traveled several times without my beloved husband, in most occasions I gifted him with wearable items: a sweater, a sport jacket, linen pants, and a traditional middle eastern perfume “‘oud” (mainly a strong oil perfume, one drop of the stuff, more than suffices. Not for the sensitive nose!) I also bought him an Arabian fake dagger that my inexperienced eye thought was real.We were living in Egypt then.

Upon arriving to my husband’s homeland, acquiring his own wearable items has proven to be… well simple, thank you Gap! This was not a problem since I only needed to buy him a gift once a year (on his birthday). If I wanted to gift him otherwise, I would bake him a pie, or make him any sandwich (his favorite kind of food. Americans are easily pleased; I have chosen wisely).

So when I left to the Boston area last month, I was faced with one dilemma. What to buy him?

Have you ever been to The Boston Institute of Contemporary Art’s gift shop?

I came upon what I thought was the perfect gift for my husband. A build your own robot sweeper. It was for ages 7+. It came home with me.

My husband just opened his gift today, this video is the highlight of our day:

A very happy start of your week.

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

Leave a Reply

