RSS Feed

An angel of mine

I grew up thinking I had an angel who was assigned to solve my math homework for me. I also grew up with a twin sister who was really good at math. I never made the connection. I would wake up every morning from falling asleep on the rug trying to solve my homework”Neveen, did you solve my Math homework for me?” I would ask. Her answer was always No.

Years later while having a conversation with my twin on the phone, I confessed that I had a special angel that solved my math homework for me every single night when I was little. She burst laughing.

NO! b..b..but I asked you every day and you said you didn’t do it.

I didn’t want you to feel bad for not being able to solve it.

Guess I have no angel then, huh.

Sorry.

***

“Neveen, Neveen… are you still awake? I had another bad dream. Can you recite some Quraan for me”

My half sleeping sister recited Quraan for me often during my childhood. I always woke her up from her sleep and she never failed to hold me tight and recite Quraan for me until I felt safe enough to go back to sleep.

***

My sister grabbed me by the waist and shouted in my ears asking me where I was going. “To get some water, I am so thirsty” I shouted back. She signaled for me to wait. Neveen, squeezed herself between the crowds and pushed herself in front of me, then circled her long arms around my back. In a Siamese twins form, We proceeded to penetrate the crowds with Neveen yelling at any guy trying to harass us. “don’t even think about touching us!” until we finally reached the water booth.

“You know Neveen, I think I am old enough to take care of myself. Technically, I’m older, nine minutes to be exact”

“Yes, but I am taller and stronger than you. Fact! Also it’s the millennium party at the pyramids, all of Egypt is here. I can’t loose you”

“Fine, I’m allowing it this one last time.”

***

“Do you want me to send you a gun?”

” Are you nuts? you can’t send a stranger to our neighborhood with a gun, they’ll kill him on the spot”

” but you’re not safe, what can I do?”

“Just a plane ticket. Get us out of here!”

click

an hour later the phone rang:

“Nermine. Mom, you, and your family have a flight to U.A.E tomorrow, it’s the soonest I could get”

“It’ll do. And Neveen… Thank you… for everything”

***

I haven’t seen my twin sister since last February.

Peace.

* I wrote this entry about a week ago, I was contemplating whether to share it or not since it’s too personal. I decided to share it as a thank you to my sister, who manages to surround everyone around her with love and joy, and in my case add excessive protection. Neveen, I miss you.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful habibty! I have to admit Neveen IS awesome, I’m sure having her as a sister is so much FUN!! You two make a good team:) rabena ye7’aleeko leba3d.

    Reply
  2. Really beautiful. Reading your blog always makes me happy. Miss you, x.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

