RSS Feed

Ten years

I was home alone in my sister’s bedroom (I was living with her for a year to help out with her new born baby) watching the Italian music channel. The program got interrupted to show a smoking tower with the headline “AMERICA UNDER ATTACK!”

I started flipping the channels and the same picture kept appearing in all the channels (???)… I called my mother and she screamed in my ears ” ARE YOU WATCHING THE NEWS?” before i could answer, a second plane appeared in the screenshot and crashed into the second tower, seconds later a person jumped a hundred storeys to his death. I hung up the phone with my mother and started to cry.

At the time, I was so far removed from America. I had no idea I was going to be related to America by blood.

***

My friend posted this on her Facebook page. I wanted to share it here, where it would be accessible to people beyond my contact list. In memory of those who lost their lives and those who suffered the aftermath. Here are powerful words from the amazing Suheir Hammad. (EXPLICIT)

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

2 responses »

  1. That’s amazing. She is wonderful. I’m glad Frances is at school, so I don’t have to explain why I’m crying.

    Reply
  2. I am still waiting for the Phoenix to rise.InshaAllah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

