RSS Feed

September Seventh

Ask me who the speaker of the house is? Ask me how many judges are on the supreme court? or when the constitution was adopted (and written)? Who my state representative is? Or the number of state representatives from all the states? And please make sure to ask me the most relevant question of all– why I want to become an American citizen?

My daughter greeted me today at school with a new kind of excitement “Are you a real American now mommy?”

I am not a “real” American yet. I will find out in about two months time. I did however pass my test and interview this morning. Right after I called my self stupid for about fifty times (one for each state). Here’s one more thing you can learn about me, my nerves usually fail me before interviews or tests.

(Also If I asked you to call me after September seventh, please forgive me. And yes call me anytime {um, before 10pm})

***

When I first moved to Madison five and a half years ago (I know the exact date now, I actually got to learn a ridiculous amount of dates that I don’t know what to do with anymore. Also I know my husband’s social security number by heart, holler at me if you know your spouse’s number) I couldn’t believe that this kind of quite existed. Shops closed by six (what?) Also dinner was at six, and I was craving late night shopping, noise and eleven pm dinners.

I no longer crave these things. I have irreversibly changed. All by myself, while my sisters were still enjoying their late night dinners amongst other things.

Distance is not kind.

***


My sister and her family visited us this past week. We shopped (during the day), we ate (early dinners) and our ears were loaded with conversations, laughter, kids imaginative play and toddlers occasional cries.

We have all irreversibly changed, together.

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

6 responses »

  1. Congratulations on passing your exam and interview! I’m so glad you made it through that part. We need more citizens like you: creative, loving, funny, and smart. What more could you ask for?

    So glad you got some Sister Time too.

    Reply
  2. Hi Germz, I must say, still lovin’ the blog! BTW ive always wanted to know what those alien looking thingies from IKEA (?) are. Congrats on your new citizenship, Inshallah. Ive been seriously considering applying to get the Swedish pass. but i don’t know if im ready, or whether I will ever be.
    Greetings and happy Eid to you and the family.
    Salma

    Reply
    • Salma,
      Sorry for the late reply. These are called “bilibo” they were a birthday gift from grammy, and we love them so, them come with us to yard play, wonderful for sitting and spinning in them, or pretending to be turtles and many more things. They encourage creative play. I’ll email you a link.
      Peace.

      Reply
  3. Congratulations and Eid Mubarak!
    Those bilibo things are so fun! We have a few in my classroom and my sister-in-law has one for her daughter. My daughters are too big for them. I wish they made them for adults to sit in. 🙂
    I had to do a double-take on the first picture. It looked so much like my younger daughter–not just the mane of curls, but sensation of the (perhaps constant) motion you captured. Your photography is inspiring!
    Peace,
    Another Muslim hippie (in the green hills of Massachusetts)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

