RSS Feed

Twenty four


Aisha (the wife of the prophet), may Allah be pleased with her, said: I asked the Messenger of Allah: ‘O Messenger of Allah, if I know what night is the night of Qadr, what should I say during it?’ He said: ‘Say: O Allah, You are pardoning and You love to pardon, so pardon me.’ “(Ahmad, Ibn Majah, and Tirmidhi).

The transliteration of this Dua is “Allahumma innaka ‘afuwwun tuhibbul ‘afwa fa’fu ‘annee”

The night of power (Laylatul Qadr) is hidden in the last ten days of Ramadan. There are signs that were mentioned so we can look for it. It comes in an odd night (the night of the 21, 23, 25, 27, or 29), amongst other signs that don’t come to mind at the moment.

So what’s so special about it?

“We have indeed sent down (this Qur’an) in laylah al-qadr;
And what will explain to you what laylah al-qadr is?
Laylah al-qadr is better than a thousand months.
The angels and the spirit descend in it, by God’s permission, on every errand. Peace! This until the rise of dawn.” (97)

It’s when the Quraan was revealed in it’s entirety (please refer to Laylatul Qadr link). One night’s worship is better than a thousand months. The Angles and the spirit (Gabriel) descend in it. 

So yeah, it’s pretty awesome.

The topic of the last ten days of Ramadan is obviously about “the night of power”

It goes something like this:

“did you feel it last night?”

“No, did you?”

“Yes, I totally did, I think it was last night”

“No, I felt it two nights ago…”

etc…

It’s pretty amazing when one feels it. It’s usually granted to the hard workers during the month.

One of the special signs that confirms it, is sunrise of the night of power is clear and white. (sounds vague, but trust me, it’s true)

It has already been tweeted (I know!) that it’s been felt on the night of the twenty third. I didn’t feel nothing, but then again I am not the person to refer to about the night of power. I haven’t felt it in years. I should call my mother, she should know.

Did you feel it yet? Do tell *smile*

“Allahuma innaka ‘afuwwun kareemun, tuhibul ‘afwa, fa’afu ‘anna” Repeat until the end of the month.

Peace.

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

Leave a Reply

