RSS Feed

Neck Rice

Our kitchen smells like yeast.

It is a good day when one’s kitchen smells like yeast. Trust me. I have dough rising in a bucket and fresh bread just out of the oven. I also have a whole chicken baking and “neck-rice” (as dubbed by my significant other) cooking on the stove top, I’ll explain the name in a minute.

Around these quarters, we don’t eat chicken necks, and some of you may think that this is the case for most people. But if you take a quick trip to Egypt, you’ll know that most of the Egyptian population eat all the parts that a chicken contains, including guts. I think the one thing they leave out are the feathers. I’m pretty sure they leave those out.

I remember I was making Mosaka’a back in Egypt and I had my cleaning lady at the time make fun of me for leaving the skin of an egg plant on. She said, and I quote “Ewwwww, it looks like roaches. Madam you need to peel these, they look so gross with the skins on”

“Says the woman who eats the chicken’s guts” (I remember I was quite pleased with my come back.)

She was on the floor laughing.

I do not eat chicken guts or necks. I do however eat their organs (hearts, livers and stomachs). I also save their necks to make chicken stock in a binge. Hence the name.

Neck-rice recipe: (I am sparing you the photo, because a chicken’s neck in your rice, is NOT a pretty sight)

2 cups rice (I use brown, but you can use any kind with these)

2 1/2 cups water.

Half an onion peeled.

1 or 2 or 3 (however many you saved) chicken necks washed.

Salt, pepper, cardamon to taste.

Directions:

Make stock: Add necks, onion and spices to the water. Bring to boil, then simmer for 10 minutes. Increase heat, add rice, let cook until the soup is barely covering the rice, then cover and let cook on very low heat for 30 to 45 minutes (depending on your rice). Sometimes I just dump the necks straight with the rice when I don’t have time.

Discard of onions and necks before serving. (this step is very important, unless you eat the necks)

Peace.

*Btw: By guts I mean intestines, just so we’re clear. Also you can use a rice cooker with the stock you made yourself with the necks. I never had a rice cooker and never will (a pot does a swell job and takes less room.)

About Muslim Hippie

Hello and welcome, you have landed yourself on this virtual space designed by your humble servant to try and escape life's unpleasantness through: selective memory musings, snippets of the world that surrounds me, and occasional insights when the light blub in this strange brain of mine flickers. No real names are displayed I'm afraid, why bother?

Leave a Reply

